Pack 125's
Home Page
What is Scouting?

Cub Scout Pack 125
(Canton, Georgia)
ScoutLander Contact Our Pack Member Login


If a Cub Scout has completed the first grade (or is 8 years old) and has earned the Bobcat Badge, he may start earning the Wolf rank. He should obtain a Wolf Cub Scout Handbook, Wolf neckerchief, and Wolf neckerchief slide when beginning the Wolf portion of the boy scout trail. He will also need a blue Cub Scout Uniform. This part of the boy scout trail is intended to take one school year, preparing the Scout to begin earning his Bear rank after he completes second grade. Cub Scouts work toward the Wolf Badge, then toward a Gold Arrow Point and one or more Silver Arrow Points. The requirements for these badges are found in the Wolf Cub Scout Book.


Recognition is important to young boys. The Cub Scout advancement plan provides fun for the boys, gives them a sense of personal achievement as they earn badges, and strengthens family understanding as adult family members work with boys on advancement projects.

The Wolf Trail is for boys who have completed the first grade or are 8 years old. Your Wolf Den Leader is assisted by other Den parents and Assistant Den leader(s) known as Akela.

Many of the activities in your Wolf book can be completed at home with your family or during your Den meetings. Once you finish an activity requirement you can have Akela sign your book showing that you have successfully completed the activity. You can have several Akelas that will help you with your activities and sign your book including your parents, your Den leader, and other adult caretakers.

After earning the Wolf badge by completing 58 of the 74 available achievement tasks, the scout may earn arrow points by completing electives. There are 12 achievement areas and 23 elective topics that might interest your scouts.

The Wolf badge must be earned first before any arrow points are awarded. A gold arrow point is awarded for the first 10 electives. A silver arrow point is awarded for each additional 10 tasks completed. Since all arrow points are awarded after the Wolf badge is awarded, your scouts will not receive any awards until February at the earliest. This is not consistent with the philosophy that frequent recognition boosts participation and sense of achievement. To provide frequent recognition, Wolf scouts can earn Progress Beads. For completing the requirements of 3 of the Achievements listed below, one YELLOW bead is awarded and placed on the Progress Towards Ranks totem. This provides the scout with a total of 4 beads culminating in the award of his Wolf badge. These beads are awarded at the den level rather than at Pack meetings.


The uniform is an important part of the Scouting program as it has been since scouting was first started. The uniform identifies the boys and adults with Cub Scouts and gives them a sense of belonging to the den, the pack, and the Boy Scouts of America. Scouts should wear their uniforms to all den meetings, pack meetings, and special pack activities.

The uniform for the Wolf Cub Scout is the official blue Cub Scout shirt, Wolf neckerchief, and slide. The official Wolf cap and blue web belt with a Cub Scout buckle are optional.
Tip: Purchase a short-sleeved rather than long-sleeved shirt for your wolf scout. The short-sleeved shirts are less expensive, cooler in active play, and will not be outgrown as fast as long-sleeved. One short-sleeved shirt should last for the 2.5 to 3 years he'll need it.

The Uniform Inspection Sheet has insignia placement guides.

Uniform details and other scouting gear can be found at the Atlanta Area Council Scout Shop or online from the BSA National Supply Division.